Pocan, Jayapal, and Raskin to Co-Chair PAC that raised $2 million for 2018 cycle

WASHINGTON, DC, December 20th, 2018 – The Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC (CPC PAC) – the political arm of the 78-member Congressional Progressive Caucus – today announced its three Co-Chairs for the 2020 election cycle. For the next two years, U.S. Representatives Mark Pocan (WI-02), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), and Jamie Raskin (MD-08) will serve as Co-Chairs, working to raise money to support progressive candidates and causes across the country.

During the 2018 election cycle, CPC PAC reached record levels of growth as it raised $1.95 million from 164,660 contributions, with an average contribution of just $11.84. The fundraising levels are up from the 2016 election cycle, when CPC PAC raised just under $300,000. With close to $2 million dollars raised this cycle, CPC PAC endorsed its greatest number of candidates ever, backing 45 candidates in races across the country. Of the 45 endorsed candidates, 41 were on the general election ballot in November and 25 won.

“Over the last year, CPC PAC has built a strong coalition of grassroots supporters who believe in progress and the power to change the direction of our nation,” said Pocan. “We will continue to strengthen the political arm of our caucus to elect the next generation of leaders and fight to advance legislation to expand economic opportunity, address climate change, ensure a humane immigration system, and guarantee health care for all.”

“The progressive movement has never been stronger! We made historic gains in 2018; growing the Progressive Caucus by more than 20 and electing the most diverse Congress ever,” said Jayapal. “I look forward to using the CPC PAC to elect even more progressive leaders committed to delivering victories for working people, women, immigrants, those living in poverty and the most marginalized.”

“Progressive energy and vision are infusing the Democratic revival in America, and we’re going to make sure that we keep the resources flowing in to progressive candidates to make sure that the Big Blue Wave of 2018 becomes the Big Blue Tidal Wave of 2020,” said Raskin.