The Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC announced plans to invest $1 million this cycle to support endorsed candidates

[WASHINGTON, DC] – June 7, 2020 – Today, the Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC announced the launch of its first-ever independent expenditure program, as the PAC’s IE arm placed its first ad buys in support of Mondaire Jones, a progressive running for New York’s 17th open congressional district.

The IE program marks the next phase in the Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC’s new effort to focus resources and energy behind bold progressives running across the country.

The organization announced it plans to invest at least $1 million this cycle to support its endorsed candidates. The program is one of the only IEs focused solely on supporting progressives running for Congress.

“Winning the fight for Medicare for All, a Green New Deal, and shared prosperity and justice requires electing a progressive majority that is willing to relentlessly stand by the ideas it believes in,” said Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC Co-Chairs Mark Pocan, Pramila Jayapal, and Jamie Raskin. “That is why our grassroots-funded organization is committing significant resources to support bold progressive leaders who will be the present and the future of the progressive movement.”

The ads, which will run in New York’s 17th Congressional District, highlight Jones’ personal story and progressive vision. In the 7-candidate Democratic primary field, Jones is the only candidate running on a platform of bold progressive ideas, including Medicare for All.

A 30-second version of an ad is available here, one of multiple ads that the PAC ‘s IE arm will be running.

The Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC is grassroots-funded, with an average donation of $11.50. The organization does not accept contributions from corporate PACs.

The PAC’s 2020 challenger endorsements include Teresa Leger Fernandez (NM-03), Beth Doglio (WA-10), Marie Newman (IL-03), Dana Balter (NY-24), Kara Eastman (NE-02), Georgette Gomez (CA-53), Jon Hoadley (MI-06), JD Scholten (IA-04), Kai Kahele (HI-02), and Candace Valenzuela (TX-24). A full of the PAC’s members and endorsed challenger candidates can be found here.