[WASHINGTON, DC] – Today, the Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC announced a $190,000 ad campaign supporting Kara Eastman, a progressive champion running against an anti-health care Republican in Nebraska’s Second Congressional District.

Eastman is the third candidate to receive backing from the CPC PAC’s independent expenditure arm, which launched earlier this year. The PAC has committed to investing over $1 million this cycle supporting endorsed candidates.

Last week, the Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC released a poll showing Eastman leading incumbent Republican Don Bacon 47-45%. Among those who have already voted, Eastman led 59-36%. 

“Whether it’s fighting to lower prescription drug costs, protecting our health care, or standing up to corporate special interests, Kara Eastman has shown she will be a strong voice for working families in Congress,” said Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC Co-Chairs Pramila Jayapal, Mark Pocan, and Jamie Raskin. “The CPC PAC is committed to strategically investing on behalf of endorsed candidates around the country to ensure that we elect bold progressive leaders to Congress this November. We couldn’t be more excited to support Kara’s campaign.”

The digital and mail campaign will start this week and continue through Election Day.

Earlier this year, the Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC was the first and largest outside group to spend in support of Mondaire Jones (NY-17), who won a heavily-contested primary. In August, the organization notched another victory, spending over $360,000 to help Beth Doglio advance to the general election in Washington’s 10th Congressional District. The program is one of the only IEs focused solely on supporting progressives running for Congress.

The Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC is grassroots-funded, with an average online donation of $11. The organization does not accept contributions from corporate PACs.

The CPC PAC endorsements of the 2020 election cycle include challenger candidates Dana Balter (NY-24), Kara Eastman (NE-02), Georgette Gomez (CA-53), Jon Hoadley (MI-06), JD Scholten (IA-04), Kai Kahele (HI-02), Ritchie Torres (NY-15), Jamaal Bowman (NY-16), Candace Valenzuela (TX-24), Teresa Leger Fernandez (NM-03), Marie Newman (IL-03), Mondaire Jones (NY-17), Mike Siegel (TX-10), Julie Oliver (TX-25), and Beth Doglio (WA-10).