Washington, D.C., August 15, 2018 – The Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC (CPC PAC) – the political arm of the 78-member Congressional Progressive Caucus – today congratulated CPC PAC endorsed candidates following their wins in yesterday’s primary elections. The winners include Jahana Hayes in Connecticut’s 5th Congressional District, Angie Craig in Minnesota’s 2nd Congressional District, Ilhan Omar in Minnesota’s 5th Congressional District, and Randy Bryce in Wisconsin’s 1st Congressional District.

“Congressional Progressive Caucus PAC endorsed candidates continue to win primaries across the country, building momentum and leading the way for Democrats to take control of the House of Representatives this fall. Our candidates are well-positioned to not only keep blue districts in Democratic hands, but also win key swing districts, including the one currently held by Speaker Ryan,” said Rep. Mark Pocan, Co-Chair of the CPC PAC. “CPC PAC endorsed candidates are committed to serving the communities they represent, not special interests, political donors, or corporations. Once elected, our candidates will fight to reverse Republican policies that have stacked the deck against working Americans.”

Jahana Hayes, a lifelong resident of Connecticut and a former social studies teacher, is the recipient of the 2016 National Teacher of the Year Award. She is running to serve the people in her community who have become disenchanted with Washington politicians who fail to prioritize the needs of Connecticut families. Hayes has dedicated herself to service, engaging her community on the need for equity in education. As a Member of Congress, she will be a strong advocate for our nation’s students, teachers, and future.

Angie Craig is running for Congress to build a Minnesota for all – where every member of every family gets a fair shot at an outstanding education, the career training or retraining for a good job, and a better life. She’s running because she’s spent over 20 years working in healthcare and understands that every Minnesotan deserves quality, affordable care. As a Member of Congress, Craig will fight for the education, healthcare, job training, and infrastructure investments that will support thousands of new jobs. Craig is committed to ending a broken political system that works for special interests, not Minnesotans or Americans.

Ilhan Omar is an accomplished legislator, policy analyst, community organizer, non-profit leader, public speaker, board member, youth mentor, and an award-winning human rights advocate. As a refugee who fled Somalia’s civil war with her family, Omar has experienced our immigration system first hand and she will be a strong advocate in standing up to attacks on immigrants and refugees by the Trump Administration and Republicans. As a Member of Congress, Omar will continue the advocacy work with which she’s long been involved and will continue to fight to advance important issues, including support for working families, educational access, environmental protection, and racial equity.

Randy Bryce is a U.S. Army veteran, cancer survivor, and union ironworker. He’s running for Congress because he’s experienced the struggles facing working families, and he wants to ensure that their voices are represented in Washington again. Having experienced serious family health issues, Bryce is committed to strengthening our health care system and fighting Republican attempts to undermine it. As a union member, he knows that economic opportunity depends on good-paying jobs and that unions are critical to building an economy that works for everyone, not just the wealthy few. As a result, he will fight to increase access to apprenticeships and stand up to Republican attacks on our nation’s teachers and other public sector unions. Bryce will never stop fighting for working families in Wisconsin and across the country.

CPC PAC will continue to provide support for Hayes, Craig, Omar, and Bryce, and looks forward to welcoming them as members of the Congressional Progressive Caucus – the largest values-based caucus in the House of Representatives – in the 116th Congress.